Wedding Wednesdays: Location, Location, Location

I’m getting married. While I’m beyond excited, it’s not one of those things I constantly scream from the rooftops.  I never want to be “that girl”.

You know who I’m talking about.  The girl who from the second she gets engaged can’t speak about anything else but the wedding; every conversation is dominated by wedding deets. That’s not really my style (secret: sometimes I actually get tired of talking about it).

I have however, often wondered about the weddings of creative entrepeneurs. With that in mind I’ve decided to give you a look into our big day with Wedding Wednesdays. Today we will tackle a big one; Location.

Your wedding’s location sets the tone for the entire event, so be sure to pick venues that really speak to who you are as a couple. For our big day we had a few criteria:

1) It needed to be a church: This was really important to Mr. B. He has been pretty laid back about other wedding related decisions, so I made this a priority (remember lovelies- it’s his day too!) We also see marriage as a covenant before God and we felt that a house of worship would best convey the sanctity of the moment.

2) It needed to be intimate: confession I don’t like people looking at me;  I’m not very good at being the center of attention.  I wanted a space where I could focus on the handsome guy at the end of the walk- no 50 yard aisles for me! We also wanted a space that felt very warm, sweet and romantic. It is important to us that our guests feel as though they are witnessing an intensely private and sacred moment (because they are…)

With these things in mind we decided on Old St. Andrews Church in Jacksonville.  It is beyond gorgeous…exposed wood beams, stained glass, mahogany floors….I DIE! It is so beautiful and serene….my hearts beats faster just thinking about it! Most importantly though, I can see myself walking down the aisle to Mr. B. there.  I think the fact that it is one of the only structures in Jacksonville to survive the Great Fire of 1901 bodes well for our future too!

{images courtesy of La Dolce Vita Studios Blog}

For the reception we wanted to a really great dinner and then an insane party…the big day is 12.31.12! We wanted to have a NYE party our friends would never forget. I personally can’t think of a better way to ring in a new year than as his wife.

The River Club is the perfect spot for this! My family has had a membership there for years and it has always been our go to for special celebrations. The food is beyond delicious, but the views are breathtaking! Located on the 35th floor of the Wells Fargo Building it is the absolute best place to ring in the New Year in Jacksonville. The building sits directly in the center of Jacksonville’s waterfront skyline right where all the action happens at midnight!

{top image from Angie Lopez photography, middle images from Active Rain, bottom image from City of Jacksonville}

So those are the places our big day will take place…..Where did you get married?

Leave a Reply

